Amastasia Header

Amastasian Calendar and Celestial Notes

The World

The World of Amastasia is often referred to just as that, the world. The planet itself is much larger than earth appears to be less than spherical in shape where the poles are closer to each other than the diameter of its witdth. This gives the planetoid a bit of a squashed look to it. There are three moons, though only two are visible to the inhabitants at any time. Two of the moon are in a sychronous orbit with the poles while the third revolves around the world at a rate making a complete circuit within a period of 33 days. The third moon is nearly twice the size of the polar moons but its distance from the world is nearly three times making it appear smaller than the other two from the surface of Amastasia.

The two polar moons are typically referred to as such, the North Moon and the South Moon while the circuiting moon is referred to as the Dancing Moon (or simply Dancer). Dancer waxes and wanes as expected over the 33 day period while the polar moons wax and wane through the day, though their visibility depends on the viewer's distance from the equator. The closer to the middle of the world, the less likely the moon will be seen while the closer to the pole the more distinct and apparent the the moons become.

The Calendar

The world of Amastasia revolves around a yellow sun in a standard eliptical pattern at a rate of 401 Amastasian days for one revoluation. This results in just Dancer completing just over twelve circuits about the world each year and the moon's beginning phase of each new year is 5 days more than the year before. As a result of the difference between the moon's position each year, the Amastasian calendar has been refined over time to follow a hybrid mix of lunar and solar dating schemas. Currently the Amastasian year is divided into twelve months, each 33 days to match the lunar cycles while the remaining five days are divided amongst the year into special holidays including the two equinoxes and the summer and winter peaks. The fifth day in commonly known as the In-between day that falls between the last day of the old year and the first day of the next year.

Seq. Month Name Seq. Month Name Seq. Month Name
1. Arinos 5. Murvis 9. UlManis
2. Cenos 6. Maladis 10. Wuldon
3. Brackis 7. Nux 11. Treos
4. Chemis 8. Elgis 12. Pacillus

Each calendar month is divided into six weeks of five days each with a lesser in-between day separating them every two weeks, though the first in-between day occurs after the first week of the month (occuring after every odd week). Lesser In-between days (referred to as Tweenday) are typically used as a day of rest and many feel it is unlucky to do business on an in-between day.

Month Calendar
Norday Tisday Dienday Mnorday Sorday Tweenday 

The five other days that occur during the year do not occur during a normal day but are simply referred to by the day in question. Thus, The Summer Solstice would be called Summer day or something similar and it may occur between any other two days depending on the year. The Greater In-Between day either begins the year or ends it depending on the region's method of observation. The Vernal Equinox is normally observed mid Brackis, the Summer Solstice between Maladis and Nux, the Autumnal Equinox in early UlManis, and the Winter Solstice in late Pacillus.